Spending My Year with The Documented Life Project

In progress

Like most people, I like to use January to realign my life. I look for opportunities for course corrections and I’m always super ambitious. This is the month that I’m most likely to do the 30-Day Fill in the Blank Challenge: planks, green smoothies, small stones, photos a day. All at once. Because only in January, I can do it all. After January, I struggle to propel this energy through the rest of the year. This year, I’m joining a year-long challenge… of a sort.

Over the holiday break, I found through an Instagram friend a year-long art journal group called The Documented Life Project. It’s facilitated through a closed Facebook group and accompanying blog by a group of artists called Art to the 5th. As a group, we are starting by altering a Moleskine Weekly Planner by adding extension pages and decorating the cover. Then, each week, we will engage in a weekly prompt and share it on Instagram (with the #documentedlife) and/or in the Facebook group. 52 art prompts in 52 weeks, resulting in a beautifully documented year.

This project came, for me, at the perfect time. I found it in the middle of a 17 day break from work, which meant that I had time to learn how to prepare my journal and buy supplies. If I had been immersed in work, I would never have considered joining the challenge. Lucky for me, I did have time and I threw myself into journal preparation. I haven’t spent this much time on an artistic endeavor in months, if not years. Hooray for mothering a young child. I already have the carved out in my day (mostly when Nora is sleeping) and now I have the practice to engage in during that time. The bonus is that it’s connected to a very engaged group of women artists. I’m looking forward to building some creative relationships in my life.

I’ve already finished preparing my journal and completing the first prompt, which I’ll share in two consecutive posts. After that, I’ll share my progress with the weekly prompts as I complete them. I can’t wait to see how my journal develops, as I work on it throughout my (documented) year.

4 thoughts on “Spending My Year with The Documented Life Project

  1. colette

    It’s so wonderful to read your post. I have abandoned my blog and this inspires me to make a post! Thank you! I’m like you in that January is my month I have time to art and journal best of all.

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      Thanks, colette. I am an intermittent blogger at best, but it helps me to keep track and document (if you will) my own work. If you start yours back up, please let me know. I would love to follow along.

      Happy New Year!

      Reply
  2. Michele Karlsson

    This sounds like the kind of project I would love. Anything to get my hands dirty/painty/glued together. Enjoy! I certainly need to do something this year myself. Can’t wait to see how things progress!

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      I actually used *your* watercolor pencils on my first page, if you can believe that. I love them! I think you should participate in the group. It’s super fun and it’s a great community of women. I’ll send you an invite on the ol’ Facebook. 🙂

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

