Links I Love, Volume 9

links I love

Image from my Instagram feed, altered in PicMonkey

On alternate Fridays, I will post links about the things that I’m thinking about, reading, watching, or doing, and of course, they’ll be content that I love. In this practice, I’m hoping to curate my own storehouse of media that showcases my interests. You can find all of the Links I Love posts here.

Healthy Eating

Frank Bruni, one of my favorite former food writers, wrote an interesting piece in the New York Times where he compared the portion culture of the U.S. to other (mostly European) countries. I don’t think he’s covering new ground here, but it’s an good reminder…for me.

Body Love for New Mamas

From Mothering, a gentle reminder to love your postpartum body. It’s been through a lot. I  don’t know if I am past the stage that I can call my body a postpartum body or if my body is forever a postpartum body, but I appreciated this article.

Generation Y & Employment

This may be a little of my work seeping through, but I loved the point-counterpoint of these two articles on Generation Y and our challenging employment experiences. The first is a Huffington Post article that identifies entitlement as they reason why Gen Y workers are unhappy. The second article from Adam Weinstein argues that it could be income inequality and poor work environments that make us unhappy. I tend to side a little bit more with the second article, but it’s a good conversation.

Screen Time & Kids

Let’s do another point-counterpoint, because apparently that’s my mood this morning. In one corner, Tinker Taylor Moldy Rye had a great blog post about why screen time can save a parent’s sanity at times. In the other corner, Offbeat Families shared an equally great post about how removing screen time improved a family’s life and general mood. We’re a limited screen time family – Nora gets one or two YouTube videos a day, and we don’t have cable or antenna TV, just Netflix and Hulu Plus. I’m not sure how we’ll do screen time after she turns 2.

Higher Education for Your Children

Keeping with the point-counterpoint model, Carrots for Michaelmas shared a tongue-in-cheek response to a Catholic blog’s post on why daughters shouldn’t be sent to college, called 6 Reasons Not to Send Your Son to College. I read several Catholic parent’s blogs, which is kind of weird since I’m very not Catholic, and I don’t agree with everything they write, but I so appreciate how this family looks at education as a way to live out your faith. Just as a warning, don’t read the original post if you’re at all feminist (I didn’t link it) – you will go Hulk Smash in a heartbeat.

What links did you love this week?

2 thoughts on “Links I Love, Volume 9

  1. aliciafinnnoack

    Oh, the screen time thing totally got me. We also have netflix streaming and it has its advantages; namely, when a show is over, a black screen comes on and nothing happens. Unlike pbs where Finn will watch past all the kids shows and through the news.

    Sometimes I wish we could live in a no-screen-time house, but we don’t. We also do not have 3 hour commutes to work, like the Offbeat Families family. We plan family together time and HAVE a lot of family together time and, the thing is, by 4pm Sunday afternoon, we are all really tired of hanging out with each other and being so together all the time. That is our “movie night” where the kids gets to watch a long show of some kind while I make dinner and chill out. Maybe when they are older and can do more stuff on their own this will change, but for now I am ok with Finn pretending to be Tinkerbell or someone from the Incredibles because he has seen and loved those movies. This week, he saw the haunted house episode of The Magic Schoolbus and we have played “magic school bus haunted house” game every single day. He also told some people at the park yesterday that his name was Ralphie, a kid from that show. I have a feeling this is a symptom of some kind of problem, but I’m not ready to look into it very much 🙂

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      I find myself wishing for some screen time, just to get a break. Nora’s pretty constant in her neediness, so it would be nice. Her friends are also starting to watch TV, so I don’t want her to be “left out” of the magic school bus haunted house game or whatever game the kids are playing. I don’t know, I’m torn on this one too.

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

