August Break, Week 5

During the month of August, I am joining The August Break, hosted by Susannah Conway. I am going to take and post one daily photo to my Instagram and Tumblr. Then, on Mondays, I will aggregate the week’s photos here. See Week 1′s photos here,  Week 2′s photos here , Week 3′s photos here and Week 4’s photos here.

8.26.13 Yes

August 26, 2013 (taken August 27) – Yes
Nora had her first non-family/non-playdate babysitter last night, so that my husband & I could attend a work party. Yes for date night .

8.27.13 Numbers

August 27, 2013 – Numbers
95 degrees & I still exercised after work, for 20 minutes

8.28.13 Smell

August 28, 2013 (Taken August 31) – Smell

8.29.13 Fave Thing

August 29, 2013 (taken August 31) – Fave Thing
I love walking under these #leaves each day.

8.30.13 Sign

August 30, 2013 (Taken August 31) – Sign
Leaf stain in my driveway. A sign of last night’s rain.

8.31.13 Smile

August 31, 2013 – Smile

***

Omigod, you guys, this week. This week almost got me.

Note to future self: the last week of August will always be crazy, as long as I work at this college. Most colleges use Labor Day as move-in day and start classes on the Tuesday after Labor Day. My school does it a week before, so move-in day for non-first years was Saturday of last week and classes started this Monday. This means, of course, that this week included opening convocation (in 95 degree heat), the president’s welcome to the year reception (in 95 degree heat), and a general influx of work as faculty and staff have kicked it into high gear. Plus, it was our wedding anniversary, which included a family date night. And then I fell over.

But, I did complete The August Break with 31 photos in 31 days. I may have taken 4 photos last night, during our evening walk, but dammit, I did it. Last time, I think I only made it through half of the month. Back when I didn’t have a child and I thought my life was busy. Now I know.

I don’t think I’m going to do an August Break wrap-up post. I think I’m just going to drop the mic here and walk out, if that’s okay with you.

Did you make it through August Break? How was the experience for you?
The August Break 2013

Share Your Thoughts

