Links I Love, Volume 7

links I love

Photo from my Instagram feed, altered in PicMonkey

On alternate Fridays, I will post links about the things that I’m thinking about, reading, watching, or doing, and of course, they’ll be content that I love. In this practice, I’m hoping to curate my own storehouse of media that showcases my interests. You can find all of the Links I Love posts here.

Not a Link, But an Explanation + a Request

This may be the latest Volume 7 ever. I last posted a “Links I Love” post back in February. I enjoy doing them, but I was posting weekly, which was not working for me. So, I took a six month hiatus. Now that I’ve resurrected this blog, I’m hoping to post a “Links I Love” every other Friday. Starting this Friday.

Now that I’m bringing it back, I have to admit – I hate the name. If you have any suggestions for better names, please leave it in the comments. I will consider all name recommendations, no matter how silly.

Now on to the links!

One Income Families

Over at Carrots for Michaelmas (one of my favorite blogs), Haley wrote a great post about saving money on baby clothes, while living as a one income family. To be honest, all of us shop at Goodwill/Salvation Army/Garage Sales for most of our clothes. It helps us stretch our (seriously nonexistent) clothes budget and I feel much less wasteful in the process.

If the New York Times article on former stay-at-home mothers and their career prospects pissed you off too, then check out this Aljazeera article on the same trend. This article is right on point, in many ways, especially when you consider the cost of parenthood. However, my one gripe, is that it plays this as entirely a mother’s issue only. As widely documented, the recession hurt men economically, much more than women, which is why it’s been more common to see men as stay-at-home parents (like my husband). I wish they would have made the article gender neutral – it would have been more accurate.

Progressive Parenting

I’m following a new-to-me blog, Knitting the Wind, after one of her posts on beauty and motherhood made the Facebook rounds. She’s a lovely, thoughtful writer, and I especially liked this post on the nonmaterial things that children need each day.

If you’re a toddler mama and a progressive parent, and you’re struggling with self-doubt or criticism about your parenting style, please go read The Organic Sister’s post, in which she shares the long view of progressive parenting. It’s a great reminder of why we stick with our strategies, over time.

Birth Culture

I am a really bad Tumblr-er. I read all of my blogs through Feedly and then I forget to ❤ posts or reblog them. So, I basically just use my Tumblr as my own private aggregator. But, there are a few Tumblrs I love, including Tinker Taylor Moldy Rye. If you want challenging posts about birth and feminism or funny posts about raising a toddler, go there. She posted this week about the assumptions in the phrase “successful VBAC” and some of the contradictions in the natural birthing community.

Those are my links for this week! I’d love to hear what you thought about them.

What links did you love these past two weeks?

2 thoughts on “Links I Love, Volume 7

    1. Jessica Post author

      Thanks, Alicia. I think it’s kinda too alliterative, but I haven’t found an alternative. I’m not awesome at titling. 🙂

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

