August Break, Week 3

During the month of August, I am joining The August Break, hosted by Susannah Conway. I am going to take and post one daily photo to my Instagram and Tumblr. Then, on Mondays, I will aggregate the week’s photos here. See Week 1’s photos here and Week 2’s photos here.

If you’re doing The August Break too, please leave a note in the comments, so that I can follow along.

8.12.2013 Far Away Collage

August 12, 2013 – Far Away
Left – I live in a small town marked by divisions: a river, a path, and a wall make everyone seem far away from each other.
Right- During our evening walk , bedtime is both too close and far away.

8.13.2013 Home

August 13, 2013 – Home
An hour after bedtime. All quiet, here.

8.14.2013 Stillness

August 14. 2013 – Stillness

8.15.2013 Books

August 15, 2013 – Books

8.16.2013 Floral

August 16, 2013 (taken August 17, 2013) Floral

8.17.2013 Touch

August 17, 2013 – Touch

8.18.2013 Looking Down

August 18, 2013 – Looking Down

***

This week was  more of a challenge than the previous weeks. I knew it was going to be. My best friend came to visit, from Wednesday through Saturday, and it was a struggle to remember to take these photos. In fact, as you can see from above, I was unable to take a photo on Friday, and made it up on Saturday. It turned out to be my favorite photo of the week and it was taken five minutes before bedtime, while Nora slowly devolved into whines beside me. I’m thrilled (and grateful) that I was able to capture this photo.

As August progresses, I know that my attention will be ever more divided. First year students arrive on campus tomorrow (eek!) and I start training my student workers on Wednesday. Then, the upperclass students arrive over the weekend and we start the whole machine up again. I know that I’ll have to take more deep breaths and find a way to remain mindful of the world around me. I think I’ve done everything I can this summer to relax and focus in on what’s important in my life. I’m hoping that I can carry that with me through the fall.

The August Break 2013

2 thoughts on “August Break, Week 3

  1. Pingback: August Break, Week 4 | Breathing Oxygen

  2. Pingback: August Break, Week 5 | Breathing Oxygen

Share Your Thoughts

