August Break, Week 2

During the month of August, I am joining The August Break, hosted by Susannah Conway. I am going to take and post one daily photo to my Instagram and Tumblr. Then, on Mondays, I will aggregate the week’s photos here. See Week 1’s photos here.

If you’re doing The August Break too, please leave a note in the comments, so that I can follow along.

Closeup Collage

August 5, 2013 – Closeup

8.6.2013 diagonal

August 6, 2013 – Diagonal

8.7.2013 Skyline

August 7, 2013 – Skyline – I spent this year in a small town, without a skyline. I’m still feeling that loss.

8.8.2013 Selfie

August 8, 2013 – Selfie – Practicing looking at myself with kindness at the end of a long work day. (A photograph inspired by my experience with the Water Your Soul-Being Seen class I took in April.)

8.9.2013 Taste

August 9, 2013 – Taste – She learned how to walk up the slide this week, against my better wishes. Her first taste of adventure.

8.10.2013 Red

August 10, 2013 – Red

Play Collage

August 11, 2013 – Play

***

This August Break experience has been so different for me this year, due in large part to the two changes I identified last week – Instagram and the prompt words. I’d like to spend a little more time unpacking the two.

I know that there are a lot of passionate thoughts on both sides about Instagram. Instagram versus Flickr. (I prefer Instagram, way a lot.) Instagram for only iPhoners. (I have a Droid.) Instagram as a group of staged, pretty shots that have zero basis in reality. (Probably true for some, but not for me). Instagram as an evil corporate entity out to eat your soul and steal all of your personal information. (La, la, la – sticks head in sand.) I get it. But, I also love Instagram as a means of connecting with others and seeing the daily-ness of our lives. I love how easy it is to find other users, follow them, and have small conversations (if you want). Through using the #augustbreak2013 tag, I’ve been able to find a bunch of new users to follow and it’s led me to their blogs and other social media outlets. And isn’t that what a good creative community and platform does? So, I love my ‘gram and I love how it’s transformed my experience with August Break this year.

Then, there are my blessed prompt words. Sometimes I bristle at prompts, like, “How dare you impose yourself on my process?” But then, I remember, that when I write poetry, I prefer to write in form. The prompt words this year have been like that for me. Each morning, I check the prompt word and then spend my day looking for ways to capture it in a photo. When it’s a color (like yellow last week and red this week), I see the colors everywhere. When it’s a word or an idea (like taste this week), I try to find a unique way to define it/redefine it. As the school year encroaches on my end of summer, I know that having that guidance will help me to remain connected to the project despite my busyness and stress.

Finally, I found myself doing something interesting this week. For a couple of my photos (see Skyline, Selfie, and Taste), I began writing small stone like phrases with my photos, as accompaniments. I don’t think I’ll be able to do it for every photo, and I haven’t this week, but I feel like these could be a project all on their own. Almost like poetry postcards. I may have to experiment with it this week on PicMonkey,when I have a moment.

Onward to this week’s photos!

The August Break 2013

3 thoughts on “August Break, Week 2

  1. Pingback: August Break, Week 3 | Breathing Oxygen

  2. Pingback: August Break, Week 4 | Breathing Oxygen

  3. Pingback: August Break, Week 5 | Breathing Oxygen

Share Your Thoughts

