Joining the August Break

August Break Post Image

Image Courtesy of Susannah Conway

Photographer and blogger Susannah Conway has hosted The August Break, a photography daily post community, for four years. Back in August 2011, when I was pregnant with Nora, I played along and made it through 2/3 of the month.

After much internal thought,  I’ve decided that I’m going to join again. I have this love-hate relationship with monthly challenges. At the beginning of the month, I love love love the challenge and get this renewed sense of creative action and mindful presence. Throughout the month, I love the sense of community that builds as I discover new bloggers and feel kinship in the creative process. But, by the end of the month as life creeps back in, I’m burnt out and going through the motions…if I’ve even made it to the end of the month.

As I write this, I’m thinking, “Wait, why am I doing this again? In August of all times?” In the higher education world, August is the bittersweet end of summer and the super intense reboot of the new academic year, all in one happy-stressy ball of fun. I must be crazy, right? In truth, I’m more than a little scared that as I rejoin the ranks of full-time work, that my creative life will atrophy again. By participating in The August Break, and declaring it on my blog, I am hoping that I can hold myself  accountable to my creative practices.

Plus, Susannah has created a lovely list of post prompts, in case I have zero inspiration that day. See the details below:

susannahconway_theaugustbreak_2013_hashtag1Image Courtesy of Susannah Conway

So, I’m in. My process will be simple(ish). I will:

  1. Post immediately to my Instagram every day, using #augustbreak2013, as recommended.
  2. Share this post to my Tumblr, as I did with the January Mindful Writing Challenge, also using #augustbreak2013.
  3. Crosspost occasionally to Twitter, if I’m really proud of a picture.
  4. Aggregate the previous week’s photographs here each Monday and write a little about my process, again, as I did with the January Mindful Writing Challenge.
  5. Fall over in exhaustion/creative bliss if I make it to August 31. Love that the last post prompt is smile, btw.

Please follow along as you wish – either with me (and everyone else) every day on Instagram and Tumblr or weekly right here.

Is anyone else planning on joining The August Break? Tell me in the comments, so I can be sure to follow along.

The August Break 2013

2 thoughts on “Joining the August Break

  1. Michele Karlsson

    I’d love to do this….I have the whole month off. Could I do it traveling? (That’s more of a question for me than for you.) Since I can’t post I may follow along and get it all out in one giant glut of work at the end of the month. Hmmmmm….

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      Depending on your phone situation, I think you could do it while traveling. You could post to Instagram or your blog via phone. If you don’t have a fancy phone, you could just commit to taking a daily picture and post it when you return – in the giant glut. Either way, you could take some nice pictures in your travels.

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

