(Belated) Links I Love Volume Five

Each week, I will post links about the things that I’m thinking about, reading, watching, or doing, and of course, they’ll be content that I love. In this practice, I’m hoping to curate my own storehouse of media that showcases my interests. You can find all of the Links I Love posts here.

It was one of those weekends where I didn’t have time to think, let alone write. It was a goof weekend, don’t get me wrong, but I missed posting my links and my last small stones and my next monthly project. Oh, well. Such is the life of a working toddler mama. On to the links…

Education

I don’t really blog much about my work, even though I love it. I think I enjoy keeping my worlds separate. However, I found an article on Inside Higher Education that I must share. This week, a PhD candidate shared her strategy for teaching media literacy and critical thinking through internet memes. It’s fascinating and such a great idea.

Toddler Life

I feel like toddler life should be used as a phrase similar to thug life. Both make you hardcore, right? Through a discussion on Facebook, I was reintroduced to Dr. Laura Markham’s parenting site and this article on toddler tantrums. I tried the caveman-talk strategy she suggests this weekend and it seemed to calm Nora down more quickly.

Birth Story

Again, I love birth stories. And this story from Offbeat Families may be the funniest birth story I’ve ever read. If you ever wanted to know how a gamer would write a birth story, well here it is.

In a totally (and I mean totally) different vein, Birth Without Fear shared a birth story from the father’s perspective. In addition to hearing the father’s telling (unfortunately rare in birth stories), this birth included lots of natural interventions, like chiropractic and energy work.

Creative Practice

This week marked the end of the January Mindful Writing Challenge, (Cue the hallelujahs.) On Writing Our Way Home, Kaspa shared why writing and mindful awareness is good for you. I couldn’t agree more.

On Be Yourself, Everyone Else is Taken (love this blog and its name), Beth shared her struggles with choosing a word of the year. In it, she talks so lovingly about words, I just had to agree. I wonder if the pressure to pick a word by January 1 leaves some of us (me included) with a less-than optimal word.

Self-Care

As part of my effort to find wholeness this year, I splurged on a yearlong online yoga class called Serenity Seasons. I found the class through an ad on Roots of She and I bought it on pure instinct. The instructor, Rachel Hawes, shared on her studio’s blog the connection between her style of yoga and cultivating mindfulness. After reading this post, I thought, Yep, this is the yoga for class for me.

What are the links you love this week?

Share Your Thoughts

