Links I Love, Volume 1

Each week, I will post links about the things that I’m thinking about, reading, watching, or doing, and of course, they’ll be content that I love. In this practice, I’m hoping to curate my own storehouse of media that showcases my interests. You can find all of the Links I Love posts here.

New Year’s Resolutions

Now that it’s after the holidays, we’re knee-deep in New Year’s Resolution seasons. I am as immersed in the process as everyone else, especially since choosing my own Word of the Year, Whole.

  • I resolve…
    A good friend of mine, Michele, moved to Italy from Minnesota to be with her love. Her blog, People Ask me Why, is a journal of her beautiful, wild experience. This week she explored the difference in European and American attitudes about New Year’s Resolutions. My favorite line “We’re constantly in the process of becoming, in small ways and large.” Go read the whole post – it’s beautiful.
  • Every Day is New Year’s Day
    In a similar vein, one of my favorite web comic artists, Ryan Dow, has a conversation with Li’l Buddha about making small changes rather than sweeping resolutions.

Parenting

Creating

  • January Mindful Writing Challenge
    We’re into the first week of the January Mindful Writing Challenge, to write one small stone each day. I’m posting my daily small stone on my Tumblr, and I’ll write a summary post each week on Sundays of all of my stones. So far, I’m 4 for 4, so that’s a good start.
  • How to Write Your Way Home eBook
    On Day 4 of the January Mindful Writing Challenge, Kaspa and Satya shared their How to Write Your Way Home eBook which covers the benefits of mindfulness in our daily lives. As I’m returning to work this week after an eleven day vacation, this was a great reminder.

Self-Care

  • The Body Stories
    I technically read this over break, but it’s just too good not to share. Sas Petherick has curated a gorgeous eBook about women’s relationships to their bodies. Several of my favorite bloggers, including Boho Girl and the Organic Sister have essays. It’s such an empowering, moving collection to read, especially in this season of lose-weight-change-your-life.

That’s all that’s been filling up my world this week.

What have you been loving this week?

Share Your Thoughts

